Board of Directors & Staff Support

The members of the Cashiers Area Chamber of Commerce represent a wide array of professions, service providers, small and large businesses, entrepreneurs and other enterprising members of the business community. Our Directors are business leaders from Cashiers, Glenville, Sapphire, and Lake Toxaway.  The Chamber's Executive Director supports the strategic activities of the Board and manages the organizations resources. 

If you are looking for a particular chamber member or member business, please visit our Directory.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

Our elected and appointed board members represent various business sectors in the communities of Cashiers, Hamburg and Hogback Townships.

President: Mary Lanning, Hampton Inn & Suites

President Elect: Glenn Ubertino, Zoller Hardware

Treasurer: Ben Harris, Harris Custom Builders

Secretary: Stephanie Edwards

Past President: Debby Hattler, Highlands Sotheby's International Realty Cashiers Team

2018-2019 Board Members

Justin Allman, FireMoss Pottery
Tony Austin, Lake Toxaway Company
Ken Fernandez, Old Cashiers Realty
Malice Grant, Sounds Essential
Ashton Harris, The Country Club of Sapphire Valley
Lec Hobbs, Highland Hiker
Sarah Jennings, Lonesome Valley
Kathy Korb, Laurelwood Inn
Brandy Letson, Cashiers Valley Pharmacy
Wendy Lupas, Gracewear
Donnie Shuey, Signal Ridge Marina

Stephanie Edwards

Stephanie Edwards serves as Executive Director of the Cashiers Area Chamber providing leadership support to the Board of Directors on strategic issues, developing the organization’s operating plans, directing programs and activities, and managing resources.

Her background includes extensive community and economic development volunteer service with state and local chambers and professional career public affairs positions with the AAA National Office and the US Congress. She has a BA in Economics from American University and an MBA from the University of Central Florida.

An Orlando, Florida native, Stephanie has been visiting Western North Carolina since she was a small child.  She and her husband, Bill, with their three sons, have enjoyed living and playing in the area for more than ten years. “There’s something very special about the Cashiers area and I’m honored to have the privilege of serving my community in this role,” she said.

Eli Ramirez

Eli serves as the Chamber's greeter and administrative assistant and manages Visitor Center reception and services. She also serves as Executive Director of the annual Cashiers Christmas Parade. Her knowledge of the local area and her ever-present smile and welcoming attitude epitomize the Cashiers spirit and local hospitality.

A Sylva, NC native, Eli is a graduate of Southwestern Community College with an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Advertising & Graphic Design. Eli has worked in Cashiers for over eight years and has held positions in retail, restaurant and financial services and combines her years of experience serving the public with a bright, enthusiastic and committed attitude. 

She and her husband, Richard, of Richard's Painting, LLC, with their newborn son, enjoy outdoor recreation, the arts, travel and time spent with friends and family in our beloved mountain region.

Appreciation to Our Retired Board Members

Matt Canter, Brookings Cashiers Village Outfitters • Chris Conner, Cullasaja Club Dan DuBreuil, Country Club of Sapphire Valley • Rob Duckett, Mountaintop Golf & Lake Club • Jane Ebberts, Landmark Realty Group • Scott Handback, Cedar Creek Racquet Club • Jeff Heilbrun, Wade Hampton Golf Club • Mark Jones, High Hampton Inn • Matt Kowal, The Gamekeeper's Tavern • Will Madden, Entegra BankDonna Nickerson, Biltmore Estate • Tim O'Brien, Blue Ridge Public Safety • Sonia Russell, Chile LocoTom Sawyer, Sawyer Family Farmstead • Alissa Short, Mountain Dog Spa • Justin Souma, Benjamin F. Edwards • Bill Stanly, Mountaintop Golf Club • Rick Stargel, High South Ventures, LLC • David Stroud, C-H Humane Society • Karen Sullivan, Re/Max Summit Properties • Ken Taft, Landmark Realty Group • Robin Tindall-Taylor, H-C Hospital Foundation • Natalia Tretiakov, The Corner Toy Store • Sandy Vinson, United Community Bank • Linda Wood, Church of the Good Shepherd