Spirit of Our Community Awards

Each year, the Chamber hosts these community awards to recognize well-deserving individuals who dedicate their lives and talents to positively influence the Cashiers Area communities. Winners are determined by committee and announced at the Chamber's Annual Meeting & Celebration in November.

Place a 2019 Spirit of our Community Award Nomination | OR Print the Nomination Form


CITIZEN OF THE YEAR  |  Presented to an individual who has significantly and positively impacted community development through vision, innovation, and leadership.

BUSINESSPERSON OF THE YEAR  |  Presented to a business representative who has leveraged commercial resources to support community initiatives in an extraordinary manner.

EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR  |   Presented to a teacher or administrator who has uniquely promoted character development and motivation as a foundation for future success.

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR  |  Presented to an individual who has generously given of their personal time, talent and/or financial support to improve the lives of those in our community.

ARTS & CULTURE ADVOCATE OF THE YEAR  |  Presented to an individual, business, or other organization whose work promotes artistic enhancement or cultural awareness.

EVERGREEN AWARD  |  Presented to an individual, business or other organization whose work reflects the respect of natural resources and the value of sustainability.




Citizen of the Year- Carl Hyde

Volunteer of the Year- Melanie jones

Educator of the Year- Wendy Stewart

Businessperson of the Year- Brien Peterkin Sr. 

Arts & Culture Advocate of the Year- Sarah Hall

Evergreen Award- Cashiers Historical Society


Citizen of the Year- Vanna Cameron

Volunteer of the Year- Rick & Vicky Robson

Educator of the Year- Donna Smith

Businessperson of the Year- Sam Lupas

Arts & Culture Advocate of the Year- Justin Allman

Evergreen Award- Southern Highlands Reserve


Citizen of the Year- Bill & Kathe Canby

Volunteer of the Year- Jim Dunn

Educator of the Year- Teri Walawender

Businessperson of the Year- Glenn Ubertino

Evergreen Award- the Team at Canyon Kitchen in Lonesome Valley

Arts & Culture Advocate of the Year- Kay Wolf & English Language Learners Team


Citizen of the Year- Terry Beye

Volunteer of the Year- Dr. Mel Livernois

Educator of the Year- Margaret McRae

Businessperson of the Year- Josh Crawford

Evergreen Award- High Hampton Inn & Country Club


Citizen of the Year- Ann Austin

Volunteer of the Year- Ronnie Sitton

Educator of the Year- Beth Poteat

Businessperson of the Year- Roy Taylor

Evergreen Award- John McCarley


Citizen of the Year- William A. McKee

Volunteer of the Year- Marcia Shawler

Educator of the Year- Wanda Crisp

Businessperson of the Year- Jim Zoller

Evergreen Award- Valley Garden Club


Citizen of the Year- Howard Meister

Volunteer of the Year- Jerry Presley

Educator of the Year- Jack Talmadge

Businessperson of the Year- Debby Hattler

Evergreen Award- Highlands-Cashiers Land Trust


Citizen of the Year- Lynn Keating

Volunteer of the Year- Cashiers Valley Community Council

Educator of the Year- Brad Hughes

Businessperson of the Year- Ben Woods

Evergreen Award- Village Conservancy, McKinney Meadow